Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Who's Online
There are currently 76 guests online.

Google Ads

Pyogenesis: A Kingdom to Disappear

Not sure what to think of this latest from German veterans Pyogenesis, titled A Kingdom to Disappear. On one hand, the band, who originally toiled in a sort of gothic doom realm back in the '90s, seem to be quite adept at garage punk/alternative themed music, complete with plenty of hooks and a fiery attitude, but on the opposite end of the spectrum they can also inject some decent death metal as well as power metal influences into their style. Which band they want to be is anyone's guess. "Every Man for Himself...And God Against All" contains some catchy melodies and solid clean vocals, before death metal growls come out of nowhere to take the listener completely by surprise. The title track features an arrangement that wouldn't have sounded out of place on an '80s Def Leppard record, while both "I Have Seen My Soul" and "We (1848)" have a certain Irish/Celtic rock flavor that is quite infectious. The band fully embraces their death metal roots on "Blaze, My Northern Flame", a great tune but one that sounds out of place here, and the closing epic "Everlasting Pain" has a sort of dreamy pop/doom/gothic tone to it that's not too far removed from Anathama, complete with some tasty guitar work and layers of vocals.

While some might fully embrace the wealth of variety contained here, others might find A Kingdom to Disappear disjointed and chaotic. As a Celtic/alternative/punk/pop band these guys really hit the mark, as the album contains plenty of soaring hooks that are instantly memorable, but it's hard to judge their extreme metal side as they just throw elements in here and there that confuse more than embellish. Either way, a solid album that's also baffling at times.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Sleep Is Good (Intro)
2. Every Man For Himself And God Against All
3. I Have Seen My Soul
4. A Kingdom To Disappear (It's Too Late)
5. New Helvetia
6. That's When Everybody Gets Hurt
7. We (1848)
8. Blaze, My Northern Flame
9. Everlasting Pain

Added: April 6th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 239
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by